Print Page   |   Register
Committees Overview
Share |

Committees 2018

If you are interested in joining one of the many working committees, calls for volunteers usually occur in January and February.


2018 IAFN Committee Chairs and Task Assignments

Awards Committee

Chair:  Tracy Pozar

Board Rep: Hannah Pressler

Staff Member: Dreama Kirby

Campus Sexual Assault Task Force

Chair: Julie Valentine

Board Rep: Nancy Downing

Staff Member: Kim Day

Commission for Forensic Nursing 

Chair: Marni Dodd
Staff Member: Kathleen Maguire


Education Committee

Chair: Debra Sterling
Board Rep: Trisha Sheridan
Staff Member: Ecoee Rooney


Finance and Audit Committee

Chair: Polly Campbell

Board Rep: Gail Hornor, Treasurer

Staff Member: Stacy Robertson and Jen Pierce-Weeks


Government Affairs Committee

Chair: Jenifer Markowitz

Board Rep: Shalotta Sharp

Staff Member: Kim Nash


 Journal of Forensic Nursing (hired)

Editor: Cindy Peternelj-Taylor (2017)

Associate: Alison Colbert (2016)

Managing Editor: Wolters Kluwer

IAFN Board Liaison:Sheila Macdonald

Staff contact for access to Journal:

Sarah Tucker
Staff Member: Amy Valentine

Membership Committee

Chair: Sheila Early

Board Rep: Jana French

Staff Member: Amy Valentine


Nominating Committee

Chair: Karen Evans(elected position)
Board Rep: Susan Chasson
Staff Member: Jen Pierce-Weeks

(Conference) Program Planning Committee

Chair:Linda Reimer

Board Rep: Liz Louden

Staff Member: Carol Dunn, Diane Daiber, Ecoee Rooney


Research Ad Hoc Committee

Chairs: Cathy Koetting and Julie Valentine

Board Rep: Nancy Downing

Staff Member: Kim Day


Social Justice Committee
Chair:  Donna Sabella
Board Liaison: Jacqui Callari-Robinson
Staff Liaison: Kim Day

SANE Education Guidelines Committee

Chair: Megan Lechner
Board Liaison: Shalotta Sharp
Staff Contributors: Kim Day, Diane Daiber, Kim Nash, Ecoee Rooney, Jennifer Pierce-Weeks


Suspect Exam Task Force

Chair: Jill Poarch

Board Rep: Susan Chasson

Staff Member: Jennifer Pierce-Weeks


Description of Committees 2018

Awards Committee: 

The purpose of the Awards Committee is to solicit nominations for the various awards given by the Association. The committee will review all nominations and select the winners for each year.  Awards given by the Association include the Virginia A. Lynch Pioneer Award, the Vision Award, the Distinguished Fellow Award, the Achievement Award, the Patron Award, the Service Award, and now the Ann Burgess Research Award.


Commission for Forensic Nursing Certification (CFNC):

The CFNC is responsible for developing and maintaining a certification program for the various areas of forensic nursing practice. Established by the Association, the CFNC is a functionally autonomous component of the Association. The CFNC is the independent governing body for the SANE-A® and SANE-P® certification examination programs. In collaboration with ANCC, the CFNC on behalf of the Association also offers certification by portfolio in advanced forensic nursing, providing recommendations for subject matter/content experts and portfolio appraisers in support of that certification. The CFNC is solely responsible for essential decisions related to the development, administration, and ongoing maintenance of the SANE certification program. The CFNC ensures that all application and eligibility requirements, examination development and administration, certification renewal requirements, and all certification program policies and procedures are directly related to the purpose of the certification program.


Government Affairs Committee:

The purpose is to keep the Board and Membership informed of government policy issues that impact forensic nursing and forensic nursing patients. The Government Affairs Committee is responsible for creating informational contacts with other organizations that impact forensic nursing, forensic nursing practice, or forensic nursing patients. It also informs the Association's BOD and recommends action involving national or international legislation or issues that impact forensic nurses, forensic nursing practice, or forensic nursing patients; educates the IAFN members about government, policy issues that impact forensic nurses, forensic nursing practice, or forensic nursing patients; and collaborates with the Association's lobbyist.  

Membership Committee:

The purpose of the membership committee is to educate forensic nurses and associates on the importance of membership to the International Association of Forensic Nurses. The committee also promotes and supports the IAFN by increasing and retaining membership. 

Nominating Committee:

This committee is responsible for preparing a slate of candidates for open offices on the Board, Nominating Committee, and the CFNC. As outlined in the Association's Bylaws, the Chairperson of the Nominating Committee, as well as all committee members (for a total of three) will be elected by the general membership.

Finance and Audit Committee:

The role of the Finance and Audit Committee is primarily to provide financial oversight for the organization.  It serves to protect the assets of the Association, ensure the maintenance of accurate records of the Association's financial activities, provide a framework of operating standards and behavioral expectations, and ensure compliance with federal, state, and local legal and reporting requirements. Review IAFN's Annual 990 Reports

Program Planning Committee:

The Program Planning Committee is charged with overseeing all aspects of educational content for the Annual Conference program. This includes the review of all abstracts and selection of the various topics to be presented.


Research Committee: 

To promote and encourage research in the clinical practice of forensic nurses. The Research Committee currently hosts a Journal Club through the IAFN Member Community and evaluates and rates the posters submitted each year at the IAFN Annual Conference.


Suspect Exam Task Force:

To examine and discuss the possibility of developing a position statement and to determine the feasibility of developing a policy/procedure guideline on suspect exams.


Nominating Committee

Chair: Hannah Pressler (elected position)
Board Rep:  Dee Krebs

Nominating Committee

Chair: Hannah Pressler (elected position)
Board Rep:  Dee Krebs

Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal