Commission for Forensic Nursing Certification

The Commission for Forensic Nursing Certification (CFNC), the successor to the Forensic Nursing Certification Board (FNCB), was established in 2012 as an autonomous body to continue the FNCB’s important work in advancing the certification programs of the International Association of Forensic Nurses (Association). The FNCB was established in 2002 to promote the highest standards of forensic nursing practice through the development, implementation, coordination, and evaluation of all aspects of the certification and certification renewal process.


To achieve optimal patient care, the specialty of forensic nursing should promote the highest standards of forensic nursing practice. The CFNC believes that a common and specialized knowledge base, application of the nursing process, and a high level of expertise in the practice setting are required to practice forensic nursing. The CFNC also believes that these attributes deserve professional recognition.


The Association, through the CFNC, offers the only international certification examination for adult/adolescent and pediatric/adolescent sexual assault nurse examiners.

The FNCB began offering a certification exam for Sexual Assault Nurse Examiners – Adult/Adolescent (SANE-A®) in 2002. The Adult/Adolescent examination is based on a job analysis of SANE practice, the most recent of which was conducted in 2017 – 2018. Certification as a SANE-A® demonstrates the SANE’s high level of knowledge, expertise, and professional commitment. In addition, the certification validates the status and experience of sexual assault nurses who often testify as expert witnesses in court trials.

The FNCB completed the development of the Sexual Assault Nurse Examiners – Pediatric (SANE-P®), offering the first examination throughout North America in the spring of 2007.

Those who wish to become certified must be registered nurses (RN) who meet all eligibility requirements to take the certification examination and then achieve a passing score. The exam is offered twice a year, in April and September, at multiple sites around the country and globally. The examinations are the first in the specialty to be offered on an international level.

The certification is valid for 3 years and certification renewal is available by attaining continuing education over a 3-year period or by again achieving a passing score on the certification exam.

For more information, please access:
CFNC Commissioner Position Descriptions
CFNC Selection and Qualifications
CFNC Composition