Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Register
Certification Opportunities
Share |

Image of stethoscope and spiral notebook

Certification Opportunities

The Commission for Forensic Nursing Certification (CFNC) currently offers two professional credentials: the Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner-Adult/Adolescent (SANE-A®) and the Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner-Pediatric (SANE-P®). From 2012-2017, the CFNC collaborated with the American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC) to offer its credential by portfolio in Advanced Forensic Nursing.

Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner (SANE-A®/SANE-P®) 

The earned credentials of SANE-A® and SANE-P® designate that the recipient has achieved the highest standards of forensic nursing for sexual assault nurse examiners. Nurse examiners initially become certified by meeting the eligibility requirements and achieving a passing score on the certification examination. Certification renewal is available by either examination or a requisite amount of documented continuing education activity over a three-year period. Learn more by accessing the most current versions of the SANE Certification Examination Handbook and the SANE Certification Renewal Handbook, available through the certification exam and renewal webpages.

Advanced Forensic Nursing (AFN-BC)

Please be advised: In late 2017, ANCC decided to retire all its portfolio programs. It ceased accepting applications for the AFN-BC on November 17, 2017. Those who currently hold the credential may renew through ANCC's established certification renewal process. For details and contact information, please see ANCC's FAQs for Portfolio Stakeholders. Individual questions or concerns may be emailed to or to Kathy Chappell at


The earned portfolio credential signifies that the recipient has achieved the highest standard of advanced forensic nursing. Certification through portfolio is an alternative assessment method for recognizing individual registered nurses in their specialty area; nurses document their skills, knowledge, abilities, and career accomplishments. Certification through portfolio requires equivalent rigor to meet accrediting bodies' criteria to determine proficiency through a peer-review process that is informed by nurse experts. Nurses who are certified through the portfolio assessment method are regarded as experts in their specialties and are considered to be among the highest qualified nurses in the world. This credential fosters both professional growth and job satisfaction, while demonstrating a nurse's commitment to providing excellent care. See a video tutorial of the certification by portfolio process.

A nurse who earns certification through whatever means demonstrates commendable professional commitment. By exerting the additional effort to become certified in his or her specialty, a nurse demonstrates a firm desire to provide quality patient care. Becoming certified is a potent statement: that a nurse has accepted the challenge of preparing for, demonstrating a refined knowledge of, and exercising critical thinking skills in, his or her nursing specialty practice. 

Questions and Important Links

Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal