Print Page   |   Register
Committees Overview
Share |

2020 Committees

If you are interested in joining one of the many working committees, calls for volunteers usually occur in January and February. The Membership and Government Affairs Committees are always welcoming new members. 

Awards Committee

Chair: Sheila Early

Commission for Forensic Nursing 

Certification (elected)
Chair: Marni Dodd


Education Committee



Finance and Audit Committee

Chair: Jennifer Alves


Government Affairs Committee



Journal of Forensic Nursing (hired)

Editor: Cindy Peternelj-Taylor (2020)

Staff Contact for Journal access: Christina Presenti

Membership Committee

Chair: Erin Pollitt


Nominating Committee (elected)

Chair: Cathy Carter-Snell

(Conference) Program Planning Committee

Chair: Liz Louden


Research Committee

Chair: Julie Valentine


Social Justice Committee

Chair: Patty Oakland

Co-Chair: Maija Anderson


Description of Committees

Awards Committee: 

The purpose of the Awards Committee is to solicit nominations for the various awards given by the Association. The committee will review all nominations and select the winners for each year.  Awards given by the Association include the Virginia A. Lynch Pioneer Award, the Vision Award, the Distinguished Fellow Award, the Achievement Award, the Patron Award, the Service Award, and now the Ann Burgess Research Award.


Commission for Forensic Nursing Certification (CFNC):

The CFNC is responsible for developing and maintaining a certification program for the various areas of forensic nursing practice. Established by the Association, the CFNC is a functionally autonomous component of the Association. The CFNC is the independent governing body for the SANE-A® and SANE-P® certification examination programs and collaborated with the American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC) from 2012-2017 in offering certification by portfolio in advanced forensic nursing. The CFNC is solely responsible for essential decisions related to the development, administration, and ongoing maintenance of the SANE certification programs. The CFNC ensures that all application and eligibility requirements, examination development and administration, certification renewal requirements, and all certification program policies and procedures are directly related to the purpose of maintaining and advancing quality certification programs.


Education Committee

The Education Committee facilitates the planning, development, implementation, and evaluation of evidence-based continuing education offered by the Association to its members and the nursing community in accordance with ANCC accreditation standards. The Education Committee has no responsibility for the annual International Conference of Forensic Nursing Science and Practice. All conference content development is the responsibility of the Conference Program Planning Committee.


Government Affairs Committee:

The committee's purpose is to keep the Board and Membership informed of government policy issues that impact forensic nursing and forensic nursing patients. The Government Affairs Committee is responsible for creating informational contacts with other organizations that impact forensic nursing, forensic nursing practice, or forensic nursing patients. It also informs the Association's BOD and recommends action involving national or international legislation or issues that impact forensic nurses, forensic nursing practice, or forensic nursing patients; educates the IAFN members about government, policy issues that impact forensic nurses, forensic nursing practice, or forensic nursing patients; and collaborates with the Association's lobbyist.  

Membership Committee:

The purpose of the Membership Committee is to educate forensic nurses and associates on the importance of membership to the International Association of Forensic Nurses. The committee also promotes and supports the IAFN by increasing and retaining membership. 

Nominating Committee:

This committee is responsible for preparing a slate of candidates for open offices on the Board, Nominating Committee, and the CFNC. As outlined in the Association's Bylaws, the Chairperson of the Nominating Committee, as well as all committee members (for a total of three) are elected by the general membership.

Finance and Audit Committee:

The role of the Finance and Audit Committee is primarily to provide financial oversight for the organization. It serves to protect the assets of the Association, ensure the maintenance of accurate records of the Association's financial activities, provide a framework of operating standards and behavioral expectations, and ensure compliance with federal, state, and local legal and reporting requirements. Review IAFN's Annual 990 Reports.

Program Planning Committee:

The Program Planning Committee is charged with overseeing all aspects of educational content for the Annual Conference program. This includes the review of all abstracts and selection of the various topics to be presented.


Research Committee:

The goal of the committee is to promote and encourage research in the clinical practice of forensic nurses. The Research Committee currently hosts a Journal Club through the IAFN Member Community and evaluates and rates the posters submitted each year at the IAFN Annual Conference.


Social Justice Committee:

The Social Justice Committee exists to increase understanding and promote action that will improve care to marginalized communities and ameliorate injustices experienced by victims of violence.


Nominating Committee

Chair: Hannah Pressler (elected position)
Board Rep:  Dee Krebs

Nominating Committee

Chair: Hannah Pressler (elected position)
Board Rep:  Dee Krebs

Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal