Print Page   |   Register
TA Webinar: Differential Diagnosis in Pediatric Sexual Assault: Finding the Zebra
Tell a Friend About This EventTell a Friend
 

This webinar presentation will illustrate the differential diagnosis tree the clinician must consider when performing a prepubescent medical forensic exam or consulting when ano-genital injury has been identified.

 Export to Your Calendar 6/19/2018
When: Tuesday, June 19, 2018
2:00 PM
Where: online - your computer
United States

« Go to Upcoming Event List  

Differential Diagnosis in Pediatric SA: Looking for the Zebra

June 19, 2018

2:00 pm EDT / 1:00 pm CDT / 12:00 pm MDT / 11:00 am PDT

 

Due to the well documented acute and long term negative health consequences associated with child sexual abuse, the medical forensic examination is an integral component of the coordinated community response to child sexual abuse.   Timely, comprehensive exams, by pediatric examiners who are specifically trained in pediatric sexual abuse, should be made available to all children who are suspected of or disclose sexual abuse.   When the examination findings are normal, this does not confirm nor rule out abuse, and the clinician needs to explain this to the non-offending caregiver and MDT partners.  Additionally, sexual abuse of the child is distinct due to their dependence on their caregivers, and the ability of the perpetrators to manipulate the child and prevent them from disclosing. 

 

This webinar presentation will illustrate the differential diagnosis tree the clinician must consider when performing a prepubescent medical forensic exam or consulting when ano-genital injury has been identified.  A review of normal pediatric anogenital anatomy, followed by case studies that include normal variants that can be mistaken for abuse, STI’s that may mimic trauma, straddle injury review, and traumatic injuries from sexual abuse.  

 

Presented by: Diane Daiber, BSN, RN, SANE-A, SANE-P, Forensic Nursing Specialist, International Association of Forensic Nurses & Kim Nash, BSN, RN, SANE-A, SANE-P, Forensic Nursing Specialist, International Association of Forensic Nurses

 

Click here to register.

Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal